A list of 26 countries makes for a Schengen region which allows its artists and polymaths as Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael. Everything you need to know about Schengen Agreement, Countries, Visa Types , Requirements, Insurance, Application Form, Guidelines and How to Apply. The Schengen Agreement signed on June 14, , is a treaty that led most of the Waldemar Schreckenberger (Germany), Paul De Keersmaeker (Belgium).

Author: Moogujin Shaktilar
Country: Ukraine
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Life
Published (Last): 22 December 2015
Pages: 395
PDF File Size: 6.23 Mb
ePub File Size: 7.83 Mb
ISBN: 743-7-44925-626-6
Downloads: 13202
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kazraran

The concept for free movement between the European countries is very old and it can be found through the middle ages.

Schengen: Controversial EU free movement deal explained

Whereas, in modern times this idea was discoursed ever since Europe suffered detriment resulted from the 2nd World War. Schenhen, concrete actions in this regard only took place during 80s, as the Europe was stuck inside an everlasting debate of two opposing fragments: France and Germany are the two pioneering countries to take initial step sdhengen regards of free movement concept, steps that were even more concrete, as they commonly agreed to move this over-debated concept into a next level.

These two countries on 17 June were the first ones to bring out the abovementioned topic within the framework of the European Council in Fontainebleau where they all approved to define required conditions for the free movement of citizens. The Agreement was signed by the five 5 following European countries: Five years later, on 19 Junea Convention was signed for the concrete implementation of the Schengen Agreement.

This convention covered issues on abolition of internal border controls, definition of procedures for issuing a uniform visa, operation of a single database for all members known as SIS — Schengen Information System as well as the establishment of a cooperating structure between internal and immigration officers.

This way, Schengen Area concept experienced an incessant expansion, as on 27 November Italyon 25 June Portugal and Spain and on 6 November Greece joined. Despite that Schengen Agreement — including treaties and rules were established, the real implementation of the Schengen Area finally started on 26 Marchwhere seven Schengen member countries: FranceGermanyBelgiumLuxemburg, NetherlandsPortugaland Spain decided to abolish their internal border checks.


Since then, the Schengen Area breathed a fast developing and expanding trend. On the other hand, led by sample of seven aforementioned countries, in October Italy and in December Austria abolished their internal border controls.

This successful story did not end there, as in December the same nations declared the abolishment of their land and sea, and in March of the airport border controls. In FebruaryLiechtenstein was the 26th and the last country so far to sign the Schengen Agreement and become part of the Schengen Area. The latest important event towards the implementation of the Schengen Agreement was in December when after three years of signing the Schengen Agreement Liechtenstein declared its internal border control abolishment.

Being a member state of the European Union EU is not unquestionably associated with a membership into the Schengen Area, even though this, legally, is an unavoidable step. The majority of the following EU member countries have been prone of the unresolved political issues that have left these countries outside of the Schengen Agreement. Just the same, Bulgaria and Romania are the following two 2 members of the EU since that are not members of the Schengen Area or did not yet signed the Schengen Agreement.

Croatia ready to meet all Schengen standards in – Schengen Visa Information

These countries submitted their wish to become members of this area, which was approved by the European Parliament in June but this request was rejected by the Council of Ministers in Septemberas Finland and Germany expressed their worries regarding lack of these countries to enforce mechanisms for fighting corruption and criminality, as well as regarding the illegal entries of Turkish people from these countries towards the Schengen Area.

Croatia is the next country in the list of potential Schengen Area members to sign the Schengen Agreement. On the other hand, the illegal entries from the influx of migrations that came from Greece through Macedonia and Serbia to Croatia heading for Slovenia, Austria, and Hungary as Schengen member countries has grew many questions about the sustainability of the area and especially its further enlargement in this situation.


Moreover, since the country was dealing with lots of illegal entries from the Croatian border, Hungary stated that it could be the one to vote against the accession of the Croatia in Schengen Area. Apart from the Azores, Madeira and the Canary Islands, no other country that is located outside of the European continent is not part of the Schengen Area or have not signed the Schengen Agreement.

Accordingly, the following six integral parts of the France located outside the Europe: Each of these territories has its own visa policies and regimes for nonmembers of the European Economic Area and non-nationals of Switzerland. These following four territories are also other integral territories of France, located also outside of the European territories that are not members of the EU or Schengen Area: These following six territories are integral parts of Netherland in Caribbean: None of these territories is not part of the EU nor of the Schengen Area, and they have their own visa policy and regime.

The territory of Svalbard is an integral part of the Norway that under the International Law enjoys a special status but it is not part of the Schengen area. This territory does not imply any visa regime for entering in there, yet any non-national cannot enter it without travelling through the Schengen Area.

The two following territories are an integral part of the Denmark: Faroe Islands and Greenland. Despite this, none of them is a member of the EU or of the Schengen Area. As a result, holders of Denmark visas cannot enter any of these two territories if they first do not get visas specifically from such countries.

However, nationals of Nordic Passport Union member countries can enter these two territories only through Identification cards. Last Updated on October 18th,